Mej SA in my geboortejaar

Geez, dis nou net weer tags waar jy kyk! Maar dis lekker, dit hou ons besig en uit die kwaad uit. Veral die jongeres… wat nou wragtig wil seker wees hoe oud ek is! Demoerin het my getag met die ene. Pikkelik het ‘n lekker tabel daar by haar waar jy sommer vinnig kan sien wie Mej SA was in jou jaar. Gaan google bietjie, en deel ietsie interessants daaroor. Ek het hierdie gekry:

Up to 1969, South Africa was represented at the Miss World Pageant by a white delegate. But in 1970, white Jillian Jessup and black Pearl Jansen, both with perfect 24-36 figures, competed in separate contests in South Africa, one for whites and one for blacks, for the right to go to London. Miss Jansen, biracial, was classified under South Afican racial laws as “colored”. Miss Jessup would compete as Miss South Africa, Pearl as Miss Africa South. This two-girl policy lasted until 1976, after two years of withdrawals of many delegates in protest.

On November 9, Pearl and Jillian, with their chaperons and surrounded by a large group of newsmen, went for a stroll in London’s Grosvenor Square. Jillian, a 20-yer-old blonde, explained that “we both represent the whole of South Africa.” They said they were happy to compete together and regarded themselves as joint representatives of South Africa.

Pearl, as 19-year-old factory machinist from Cape Town, said that if she was “crowned it will be for all South Africans, not just the coloreds or the whites.”

Despite South Africa’s strict racial laws that enforced segregation of races, Jillian said that when they return home “we hope to go out together and meet in the same place.” The contest organizers placed the two women in separate hotel rooms with other contestants, but insisted that there was “no racial or political significance” in this. Jillian and Pearl, both with big smiles, posed together for news photographs.

Mmmm, ek tag vir Eendjie, Paula, en Corli. GO! GO! GO!

Bron

 

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    demoerin said,

    Sjoe, die Jillian was nogal sag op die oge!

  2. 2

    Wipneus! said,

    Ha ha ha Demoerin.. ek stem.

  3. 3

    Pikkelik said,

    Ai die ou-regeme tog… maar daai foto’s is mooi! Rerig – daai swart en wit foto’s doen iets vir vrouens. (Memo aan self: Sorg dat alle toekomstige foto’s swart en wit is…)

  4. 4

    Emil said,

    Ek is more in die argiewe om iets meer oor Disa Duivestein uit te vind.

  5. 5

    Eben said,

    Soe Demoerin, ek stem, baie baie sag op die oge!!

    Dellie, mens wonder nou, hoe lyk die mense/meisies/vrouens vandag. Hoe het hulle lewens verander. Ek glo hulle het die room tussen die ouens gekies, en baie baie huwelike het op die rotse beland.

  6. 6

    demoerin said,

    Moes net gou weer na die prentjie kom kyk…hahahaha

  7. 7

    BB said,

    Pikkelik – Ek het my nudes ook in swart en wit en sepia laat doen – baaaaaaie ‘vleiend’ 😉

  8. 8

    Emil said,

    Ok, ek was in die argiewe. Die internet het beter gehelp:
    http://emiljung.co.za/?p=309


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Lewer kommentaar

